UNITED STATES CONGRESS

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE MAY 8, 2013

Contact:

McCaskill: 202-228-6263 Durbin: 312-353-4623 Wagner: 202-225-1621 Enyart: 202-225-5661

MEDIA ADVISORY

McCaskill, Durbin, Wagner, Enyart to Award Congressional Badge of Bravery to Local Missouri, Illinois Law Enforcement Officials

Missouri and Illinois federal elected officials to honor courage of law enforcement officers

ST. LOUIS – U.S. Senators Claire McCaskill (Mo.) and Dick Durbin (Ill.), and Representatives Ann Wagner (Mo.) and Bill Enyart (Ill.) will join together in St. Louis on Monday to present local law enforcement officials with the Congressional Badge of Bravery, an award honoring exceptional acts of bravery in the line of duty by federal, state and local law enforcement officers.

The awards will be presented at the Thomas F. Eagleton U.S. Courthouse in St. Louis, Mo., this Monday, May 13 at 9:30 a.m. CT.

In addition to the Members of Congress, representatives from the offices of U.S. Senators Roy Blunt (Mo.) and Mark Kirk (Ill.), Congressman Lacy Clay (Mo.), Congressman John Shimkus (Ill.), and Congressman Rodney Davis (Ill.) will be in attendance.

The Congressional Badge of Bravery award was established by the Law Enforcement Congressional Badge of Bravery Act of 2008 and was first awarded in 2010 to honor exceptional acts of bravery by law enforcement officers. The medals are awarded annually by the U.S. Attorney General and are presented by the recipients' Members of Congress.

Additional information on this year's award recipients is available online, **HERE**.

On March 8, 2011, the award recipients demonstrated great courage during the apprehension of an armed fugitive in St. Louis, Missouri, which resulted in the death of a distinguished U.S. Marshal. Recipients of the award for exceptional acts of valor are Supervisory Deputy U.S.

Marshal Patrick James, Deputy U.S. Marshals Theodore Abegg, Travis Franke, Nicholas Garrett, Jeremy Wyatt, and fallen Deputy U.S. Marshal John Perry.

Monday's event in St. Louis is open to the media, and further details appear below.

Congressional Badge of Bravery Awards Ceremony

Monday, May 13

9:30 a.m. CT Thomas F. Eagleton U.S. Courthouse En Banc Courtroom, 28th floor 111 South 10th Street Saint Louis, MO 63102

###